Tier 2 Visa Requirements

Tier 2 Visa Requirements

If you're looking to move to the UK on a Tier 2 visa, you are probably wondering what qualifies you for the visa. In this article, we look at the eligibility requirements for a Tier 2 visa and the process of getting one. If you need any help with what you read here, then please get in touch and we can assist with your query.

Is there a point requirement for the visa eligibility requirement?

Yes, the UK uses a point based system to see who qualifies to apply for a visa. You will require 70 points from the criteria to be eligible for a visa. You will have to provide documentation to prove that you are eligible. If you need help with forming your application get in touch. We can help manage your application, ensuring you have the best chance of success.

Due to the popularity of the Tier 2 visa, the British government is strict over enforcement of the criteria. It is important that you have everything in place in order to save wasting your time with a poor application.

How are the Tier 2 visa points worked out?

  • Points awarded in the following areas:
  • Possessing a valid Certificate of Sponsorship (COS) 30 points
  • Appropriate salary 20 points
  • Meeting the English language criteria 10 points
  • Having maintenance funds available 10 points

You will need 70 points from the above list to qualify for a visa. Some of these are mandatory such as the English language requirement. The best bet is to ensure that you score maximum points on all parts of the criteria.

How do I qualify for the English requirement portion?

According to the page on Gov.UK "passing an approved English language test with at least CEFR level B1 in reading, writing, speaking and listening. Having an academic qualification that was taught in English and is recognised by UK NARIC as being equivalent to a UK bachelor's degree, master's degree or Ph.D."

You will need to meet this requirement in order to be eligible. It is very strict these days due to the government's stance on the English language requirement. There are some (mainly English speaking) countries whose citizens are exempt and it is worth checking if your country of origin is on it.

According to the Gov.UK website, you won't need to prove your knowledge of English if you're a national of one of the following countries:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • the Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • USA

How we can help

For further legal assistance on your immigration, get in touch with our experienced immigration solicitors. We can manage your application every step of the way, giving you the best chance of success in your application.

Some of our happy clients



530 Reviews



Copyright © 2020 Immigration Lawyers London