"European Union (EU) countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. Formed on 1 January 1994. Represents an amalgamation of the European Union and the European Free Trade Area. Those European


To leave one’s home country in order to live permanently in a new country.

Employment and Support Allowance

Employment and Support Allowance is an allowance aimed at helping people with an illness or disability to move into work.

Employment Rate

The percentage of total in employment against all people in the relevant age group.

Entry clearance

"Entry clearance is the procedure used by Entry Clearance Officers (ECOs) at British posts overseas to check before a person arrives in the UK if that person qualifies under the Immigration Rules for

Entry Clearance Officers

Those Home Office workers that decide entry clearance applications made at an entry clearance post outside the UK (i.e. embassy)

Entry clearance visa

An Entry clearance visa is a visa permitting the bearer to travel to the UK and leave to enter from the date of issue. It is activated upon passing through UK immigration control. There are three cate


To rapidly accelerate or increase the priority level of a given issue. In the immigration context, issues may be escalated when they need special attention. These issues may be moved ahead in line for


Economic and political union of 27 member states. The member states are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy,

EU - European Union

An amalgamation of twenty-five independent states based on the European Communities. Formerly known as European Community (EC) or European Economic Community (EEC), the EU was founded to enhance polit

European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR)

The ECHR is an international legal instrument adopted under the auspices of the Council of Europe. Its provisions are enforceable in UK law courts.

European Court of Human Rights

The European Court of Human Rights in Strasburg was established by the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) and hears complaints where a state has violated the human rights protected in the Conv

European Court of Justice

The European Court of Justice in Luxembourg, officially the Court of Justice of the European Union, is the highest Court in the EU in matters of European Union law.

European Union

"The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of 28 countries. Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungry,

Exceptional leave to remain (ELR)

ELR was a form of immigration status in use before April 2003. It was granted to asylum seekers who the Home Office decided did not meet the definition of a refugee as defined in the Refugee Conventio


To be kept out or not included. In the immigration context, “exclusion” typically refers to a foreign national being denied entry into the United States through a removal procedure.


To speed up the progress of something; “expeditious” means speedy or quick. Under immigration law, certain cases can be expedited, meaning that a decision is reached more quickly than the normal p




479 Reviews


Copyright © 2019 Immigration Lawyer London